Mini update- Rising Dawn

Published October 14, 2017 by kittenmorag

Several years ago, a good friend of mine went through some changes in her life, and made a new alicorn ponysona based on it, called Rising Dawn

Rising Dawn ponysona

Isn’t she bonny?

So as a matter of stealth, I decided to make her a custom of her.

When pressed about her cutie mark, she said, ‘Oh, I don’t know, I guess maybe the rising sun? With anime wings? OH and a flower crown?’ I said a lot of not very nice things at that stage, but I went with it.

It was complicated, easily the most complicated thing about her. I decided to construct the flower crown out of nail decals, because that level of detail in painting is just beyond me. I managed to get it looking OK though!

Cutie mark close up

Here’s a WIP shot. That’s about four different decals in there

And it all continued going well until I used an acrylic varnish. TURNS OUT the leaf decals weren’t water fast, and so they ran D: So I did it again! Then I had to coat it with clear nail varnish (a cardinal sin), then do the whole lot again with my usual varnish

However, I think I managed to do OK with her, in the end

Please excuse terrible photos >.< I’ve learned a lot since I completed Dawn, and I think that shows a bit. The flower crown, however, is one of my favourite hacks- it’s actually an accessory from one of the wedding sets that I’ve painted. You can’t see it very well in the first shot, but there’s a small shock of orange in the tail, as well. The ribbon was added by the new owner, who loves her.

Shine on, Dawn, and rise to new heights. I’m thinking of you ❤

 

Leave a comment